Quote

The Best Part A…

28 Mar

The Best Part About Owning A Dog…

… is the way he will come over to see me,
for no reason, just to let me know I’m
important to him
… is the way he is always ready to lick the
jelly off my nose…
… is the way he looks into my eyes and finds
contentment in simply being near me
… is the way he will run all over the yard,
fetch a soggy tennis ball and bring it back
to me as if to say “look mom, it’s all have,
but it’s yours
… is the way he wakes me up in the morning by pushing
his cold wet nose in my ear and snuffing loudly
… is the way he shreds toilet paper all over the house,
because it’s fun even though he knows he shouldn’t
… is the way he’s sure he can catch the ducks in the
lake today…
… is the way he comes over to me when he is sad
… is the way he wedges himself near me when I am sad and
push all others away, to console me with his love
… is the way he pounces on crickets in the backyard
… is the way he looks perplexed when they escape
… is the way he is terrified of the evil pink hula hoop
… is the way he doesn’t mind how much of that horrid
perfume I’m wearing just because it was a gift from
my relative who’s visiting
… is the way he doesn’t care about bad hair day or
overdue bills
… is the way he loves you, even when you are impatient
with him and have no time this morning for a game
of tug-a-war
… is the way his coat feels like liquid silk under
my fingers
… is the way he finds wisdom beyond words

Leave a Reply

